Texas Land Title Association Names Title Person of the Year

July 1, 2010

The Texas Land Title Association (TLTA) awarded J. Christopher Phillips, president of Title Resources Guaranty Co. with the Title Person of the Year Award during its annual conference and business meeting in Austin, Texas. The award recognizes significant and longtime contributions to the title industry and the association. It is the highest honor bestowed by TLTA.

“We are honored to present Chris with this prestigious award,” said Leslie Midgley, executive vice president of TLTA. “Chris has been a constant champion for our association and the title industry in Texas. The contributions he has made as part of our association leadership are too many to name and we are privileged to have him among our ranks.”

With over 35 years of experience, Phillips began his career at a rural title agency in Colorado and later joined the agency staff of a national underwriter focusing on developing a regional network of independent agents. In 1985, he joined Title Resources Guaranty and after serving as senior vice president and agency operations manager for several years, Phillips was appointed as president in January 2009. Phillips was recognized as an Outstanding Young Title Person in 1992, awarded the Peggy Hayes Teaching Excellence Award in 2004 and currently serves on the TLTA Board of Directors representing the Underwriter Section.

He holds a Bachelor of Science in Business from the University of Colorado and currently resides in Plano with his wife and daughter.

Contact ALTA at 202-296-3671 or communications@alta.org.