PRIA Elects Officers and Directors

November 1, 2011

The Property Records Industry Association (PRIA) elected seven board candidates in three categories for two-year terms on its board of directors during its Annual Conference Sept. 24-27 in San Antonio.

Larry Burtness, chief deputy recorder, Washoe County, Nev.; Kathi Guay, register of deeds, Merrimack Co., N.H.; and Kay Wrucke, recorder, Martin Co., Minn., were elected directors in the recorder category.

Marc Aronson, president, Pennsylvania Association of Notaries; Richard Bramhall, senior vice president & chief title officer, Bank of America; and Charlie Epperson, chief technology officer, SigniaDocs Inc., were elected in the business category. Mark Ladd, director of channel sales, Simplifile, LLC, was elected to fill the one vacant at-large position.

When the new board convened on Tuesday, September 27, for the first Board of Directors meeting of the new session, officers were elected for one-year terms. Wrucke was elected to serve as president; David Ewan, Westcor Land Title Insurance Co., was elected vice president; Joan McCalmant, recorder, Linn Co., Iowa, was elected secretary; and Ladd was elected treasurer.

Directors continuing for the second year of a two-year term include, Danny Crank, recorder, Butler Co., Ohio; and Carol Foglesong, asst. comptroller, Orange Co., Fla., representing the recorder segment; Kellie Romeo, vice president, American Land Title Association, representing business; and Diane Swoboda Peterson, assistant deputy recorder, Woodbury Co., Iowa; at-large member.

“After serving PRIA the past two years as vice president, I am excited to step into the chief volunteer role and be able to lead this dynamic organization,” Wrucke said. “I am very fortunate to have an experienced and hard-working board, active committee and workgroup co-chairs and a staff to support the efforts of us all. The committees are embarking on a number of new initiatives and I envision productive years ahead.”

Contact ALTA at 202-296-3671 or

North American Title Insurance Company (NATIC) is a seasoned title insurance underwriter, helping title agents to achieve their individual business goals for more than 50 years. Today, the company conducts real estate settlement services in 39 states and the District of Columbia through a network of experienced, independent agents.