NAIC Names 2012 Consumer Liaison Representatives

December 29, 2011

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) named 28 consumer liaison representatives for 2012. The 18 funded and 10 unfunded consumer representatives begin their terms Jan. 1, 2012. Fifteen of the funded consumer representatives participated in the program in 2011, while three are new to the NAIC program.

Established in 1992, the program promotes consumer interaction with NAIC members, the insurance industry and interested parties through the individuals’ dedication and commitment to serving the public interest.

“The consumer liaison program continues to be an integral part of our consumer protection initiatives,” said Kevin M. McCarty, NAIC President-Elect and Florida Insurance Commissioner. “The representatives provide valuable perspectives and expertise that help improve the insurance regulatory system for all consumers.” The following are the 2012 NAIC funded consumer liaison representatives:

Elizabeth Abbott: Project Director, Health Access

Amy Bach: Executive Director, United Policyholders

Deeia Beck: Public Counsel, Office of Public Insurance Counsel/Texas

Brendan M. Bridgeland: Director, Center for Insurance Research

Bonnie Burns: Training and Policy Specialist, California Health Advocate

Sabrina Corlette: Research Professor, Georgetown University Health Policy Institute

Brenda J. Cude: Professor, University of Georgia

Joseph P. Ditre': Executive Director, Consumers for Affordable Health Care

Timothy Stoltzfus Jost: Professor, Washington and Lee University School of Law

Kathleen Gmeiner: Project Director, UHCAN Ohio*

Karrol Kitt: Associate Professor, University of Texas at Austin

Peter Kochenburger: Executive Director, Insurance Law Center, University of Connecticut School of Law

Sonja L. Larkin-Thorne: Consumer Advocate, Avon, CT

Sarah Lueck: Health Policy Analyst, Center on Budget and Policy Priorities

Jennifer Mishory: Deputy Director, Young Invincibles*

Andrea J. Routh: Missouri Health Advocacy Alliance*

Daniel Schwarcz: Associate Professor of Law, University of Minnesota Law School

Barbara Yondorf: President: Colorado Consumer Health Initiative

* New NAIC funded consumer representative in 2012

In addition, there are 10 unfunded consumer representatives (5 returning from 2011 and 5 new as noted with an asterisk):

Birny Birnbaum: Executive Director, Center for Economic Justice*

Stephen Finan: Senior Director of Policy, American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network

Carrie Fitzgerald: Senior Policy Advisor for Health, First Focus*

Howard Goldblatt: Director of Government Affairs, Coalition Against Insurance Fraud

Contact ALTA at 202-296-3671 or