ALTA Honors Kosin With Honorary Membership

October 7, 2020

ALTA Past President Greg Kosin received an ALTA Honorary Membership during ALTA ONE, held virtually Oct. 6-8.

Kosin, president of Greater Illinois Title Company Group of Companies, joins 65 other title professionals to receive the honor, which is bestowed by ALTA’s Board of Governors for performance of distinguished and meritorious service to the association or to the land title industry.

“When I got the call, it was like getting a call from the Hall of Fame,” Kosin said. “It was unexpected and emotional. I’m humbled to receive this award and join an elite group of industry professionals I consider mentors and friends.”

Kosin acknowledged past ALTA presidents, including Jack Rattikin Jr., Frank Pellegrini, Chris Abbinante, Mark Bilbrey Anne Anastasi, Rande Yeager, Herschel Beard and Cara Detring.

“All of these are people who I served with on the ALTA Board or on various committees. To me, that’s a title industry Hall of Fame line up,” Kosin said. “I’m privileged to be part of this special group. I pledge to continue to work on important issues confronting the title industry.”

For most of his 40-plus-year career, Kosin has actively participated in ALTA activities and meetings. He served as ALTA’s 2006-07 president and has participated and chaired numerous committees, including the Government Affairs Committee for many years. Kosin was serving as chair of the Abstracters and Title Insurance Agents Section when he was asked to take over as ALTA president after President-elect Mike Wille tragically died in a plane crash shortly before he was scheduled to take office.

A two-time president of the Illinois Land Title Association, Kosin has also served as a director of the Illinois Association of Mortgage Brokers, the Illinois Mortgage Bankers Association, the Society of Mortgage Professionals and the Chicago Association of Realtors.

As a member of the Title Insurance Advisory Task Force of the Illinois Department of Financial Institutions, Kosin helped draft the Illinois Title Insurance Act of 1990. As chairman of the ALT A Government Affairs Committee, he testified at a 2003 hearing of the U.S. House Committee on Small Business on the impact of changes in the Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act (RESPA) on the title insurance industry.

“Greg has given his professional life to our industry and our association,” said Jack Rattikin III, president of Rattikin Title and an ALTA Board of Governor. “It is my honor to award Greg with this ALTA Honorary Membership award. His talents as a leader in the title insurance industry are well regarded. Throughout his year as president, Greg worked to help reform RESPA and address public confusion about the title industry.”

Contact ALTA at 202-296-3671 or